The Future Is Not Artificial
Present
Movement III

Why Alberta?

Energy resources, industrial corridors, land, a cold climate, fibre, an AI research base, a legal route to build your own power plant, and a provincial strategy that went looking for this investment on purpose.

EdmontonCalgaryFort McMurrayGrande PrairieLethbridgeRed DeerBeacon HeartlandMeta SturgeonNOT DISCLOSEDTNE / Data DistrictSynapse OldsBeacon Indus

Height means What a dedicated power plant can produce

Marker positions are approximate. Bar height encodes only the selected metric; a project that has not published that metric shows a dashed stub reading NOT DISCLOSED rather than dropping to zero.

How much power is this?

We are not going to add every announcement into one future number. Instead, here is the system-level evidence, and here are the individual projects — with their metric labels intact.

proposed large-load projects seeking grid connection, 2025 interim Phase 1 connection limit
Data-centre load
~1,400 MW

AESO offers this as a size comparison only. It does not mean any single project "uses more power than Edmonton" — compare the bars, and read what each bar measures.

Headline facility scale
1 GW

A headline "1 gigawatt facility" describes the scale the campus is designed toward. It is not a measured load, and it is not the same as the grid allocation below.

Grid allocation
970 MW

A grid allocation is permission to draw up to this much from the Alberta grid. It is not a generator, and it is not a measurement of what the site will actually consume.

Data-centre load
~1,200 MW

Under normal operating scenarios approximately 1,200 MW would supply co-located, on-site AI/HPC data halls. The other ~294 MW is not data-hall supply.

Generation capacity
1,494 MW

“The total capability of the project would be 1,494 megawatts.” This is generation capability applied for — it is NOT the data-hall load, and the application is still under consideration.

Generation capacity
~1,400 MW

Proposed generation to power the on-site data-centre load.

Backup generation
1,800 MW

Backup capacity exists to survive an outage. It is not intended to run continuously, and it must never be added to the generation figure as though the site produced 3,200 MW.

Generation capacity
960 MWe

Proposed; approvals still being sought. Listed completion by 2027.

Data-centre load
240 MW

Combined across four separate sites (Olds, Bonnyville, Calgary, Edmonton) — not a single 240 MW facility.

The rules changed because the scale changed.

This is where AI becomes politics. The rules change what physically gets built.

Cumulative-impact laboratory

Nobody knows how much of this pipeline becomes real. So model it, and label the model honestly.

Illustrative scenario — not a forecast

Only what is already under construction proceeds. Everything still in a regulatory process or at the proposal stage does not get built.

  • Meta Sturgeon Data Centre
Totalled separately by metric — never across metrics
Data-centre load 0 MW

Electricity the computers actually pull. This is the demand.

No published figure Meta Sturgeon Data Centre — counted as unknown, not as zero.

Generation capacity 932 MW

The most a power plant can produce. This is the supply.

Grid allocation 970 MW

Permission to draw from the shared grid. This is a queue position.

Backup generation 0 MW

Only runs in an emergency. Almost never producing.

No published figure Meta Sturgeon Data Centre — counted as unknown, not as zero.

The four bars above must never be added to each other. A generation capacity, a data-centre load, a grid allocation and a backup rating are four different physical quantities that happen to share a unit.

What moves as the build-out grows
  • New electricity demand More sites means more demand, whether it is served by the grid or by dedicated plants.
  • Dedicated generation Most Alberta proposals in this data set include building new gas-fired generation.
  • Grid connection pressure Behind-the-meter projects add demand without adding to the connection queue. That relieves the queue and removes the project from shared system planning at the same time.
  • Natural-gas demand Follows directly from gas-fired generation, and brings upstream methane questions with it.
  • Operational emissions Depends on generation technology, carbon capture, and how much of the load is served by non-emitting supply. No project in this data set publishes an annual emissions figure.
  • Land Campus land, not building footprint. Only Meta publishes an acreage in this data set.
  • Construction activity Concentrated, temporary, and the phase host communities actually experience first.
  • Permanent jobs Rises, but far less than investment does. Meta lists 300 permanent jobs against $13B.
  • Tax, levy and royalty potential Alberta has introduced a data-centre levy. The realised amount depends on rules that are still being written.
  • Water Almost entirely a function of cooling design. A dry closed-loop campus and an evaporative campus of the same size have completely different water footprints.
  • Transmission infrastructure Grid-connected projects drive new lines and substations. Who pays for them is the cost-causation question.

No numbers are attached to these indicators, because attaching numbers would be false precision. The direction is defensible. A decimal place would not be.

A very local moment

Beacon Indus, Rocky View County

About three kilometres east of Calgary. A proposed 1,494 MW power project, of which roughly 1,200 MW would supply co-located AI/HPC data halls under normal operation.

AUC oral hearing commences

This is not a future debate. Re-check the AUC proceeding page on the morning of the talk — hearing dates and status change.

Generation capacity
1,494 MW

“The total capability of the project would be 1,494 megawatts.” This is generation capability applied for — it is NOT the data-hall load, and the application is still under consideration.

Data-centre load
~1,200 MW

Under normal operating scenarios approximately 1,200 MW would supply co-located, on-site AI/HPC data halls. The other ~294 MW is not data-hall supply.